Skip to content

Getting it done.

October 10, 2012

20121010-121756.jpg

It’s frickin hot outside. Steamy, bitumen melting, HOT!
And I just finished this WOD
2RM clean in 12 mins followed by

21 dumbbell cleans
Run 400m
15 dumbbell cleans
Run 400m
9 dumbbell cleans
Run 400m

I got 45 for the clean (fairly easily) and 14:05 for the metcon (gut busting, shit my pants STRUGGLE with 10kg Dumbbells)

And this is how I feel/look


Soaking wet and ANGRY.

Everything sucks.
My knees hurt because my clean form has gone to shit- I’m struggling to stay tight at the bottom of the squat so I’m pitching forward onto my knees and toes- all 65kgs of me is thrown onto my poor little knees.

Let’s not even start on running. My legs feel like I’m wearing cement shoes instead of my lairy blue Inov-8’s.
The steam off the road was stifling.
And WODing alone SUCKS ARSE.
But because we are getting so busy, it’s getting harder to train with the classes because I have to Coach- so I’ve just got to train when Bub naps and Tim is free.
No excuses, I’ve just got to get it done!!
It’s lonely though 😦
* not that I’m complaining that we’re busy 😉

I’m feeling disheartened and weak and just wanting my old body back.
Not the way my old body LOOKED, I’ve come to terms with my new shape.
But what my old body could DO.
I’m moving badly, inefficiently, and it just feels wrong. You know when you feel like crying and falling down dead after your 200m warm up run that something is wrong. So wrong.

(yes, I’m irritating when I get my whine on. Apologies. Sob. Sniffle. Sigh)

Ok. Now I’ve had my sulk, I’m going to chalk today up to “one of those days”.
It doesn’t help either that I’ve had a week off training with tonsillitis and a chest infection, so I’m not as far ahead as I had hoped 😦

Here’s where I’m at as of Friday

20121010-164056.jpg

20121010-164717.jpg

And in spite of my shitty day today, I’m gonna get up tomorrow, dust myself off and do it all again…. This is my life, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

(s’cuse the bedroom selfie! My photog has the man flu and I couldn’t rouse him)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Hannahg permalink
    October 10, 2012 10:02 am

    You know how you say your movements just ‘feel wrong’?

    Well.

    Having NEVER done any kind of proper exercise, and having embarked on my own little journey 4 months ago…for the first time, EVER, I feel different. Like I’m moving like I should be.

    I’ve been intermittently lean(ish)looking over the past 15 years. I’ve worked hard & fast, without time for slobbing about so my weight was good. But I’ve NEVER been ‘I’ve worked for this’ fit. And I’ve got a long way to go. But I freaking love it.

    Your crazy-ass uber fitness has been a big part of my inspiration.

    And I’m crazy grateful 🙂

    • October 30, 2012 2:59 am

      Just read this comment properly, sorry Han! Proud of you for making shit happen 🙂 And SO happy you read my blog. Much love.

  2. Susie Lockwood permalink
    October 13, 2012 6:18 am

    Awesome Jo Jo – love the ground – truthing mate. Makes it all real, makes it all worth while 🙂

Leave a Reply

