Skip to content

Pickles and Donuts and Muffins, oh my!

September 11, 2012

Here’s a little story about Pickle. She gave us a few scares in the beginning, and so docs had me on bed rest for the first 20 weeks. I wasn’t allowed to do anything more than a light 5-10 minute walk. As a CrossFitter and Coach I was DEVASTATED.
That is, until morning sickness reared its ugly head. From the hours of 630am until about 8pm I felt like I was nursing all of my New Years Day hangovers combined.
The worst part- I didn’t want to eat any of my favourite foods.
In fact, the thought of kumara made me gag. Looking at a head of broccoli made my eyes roll back in my head.
If Tim was cooking meat I had to go and shower for half an hour or barricade myself in the bedroom until the smell had dissipated or risk hurling all over the floor.
All I could stomach was lemonade ice blocks and plain, white rice. Or, if I was starving, KFC Zinger Burgers, fries and gravy.
WTF.

20120912-080425.jpg
Needless to say, I swelled up pretty quick. I gained about 15kgs in 2 months just laying in bed eating sugar and shitty shitty carbiness.
Fast forward to Week 20, and I’m back in Oz. I had a nice little baby puku, but was also carrying muffin top, back fat, and jelly thighs…this did NOT sit well with me. I felt heavy, slow, and unhappy.
With Docs OK, I broke the workout drought with a BodyPump class. I had half the ladies in the class looking at me sideways, with a few asking me “do you really think this is safe”. If they had ANY idea what I normally did, they would have known Pump was a piece of piss.
Which it was.

I started doing CrossFit Mom WODs, and actually started getting my appetite back, so I switched to a mostly Primal eating plan. The only difference was, if I REALLY, like REALLY wanted a donut, I’d let myself have one. I ended up having about 3 cheats per week instead of my usual one per week, so nothing out of control. I even leaned out, and regained some muscle, and felt pretty amazing- by the time Tim came to join us in Cairns, I was doing regular CrossFit mainsite WODS as RX’d, although being mindful of intensity, and not watching the clock.

I could still run, but if it was any longer than 400m I’d have to stop and wee, or risk peeing my pants all over the globo gym (at least that’s what it felt like). Most AMRAPs with a run I’d do the first round running, but have to switch to rowing to alleviate the discomfort. I even competed in an Enticer Distance Triathlon with Tim at 28 weeks…we came dead last (I don’t know how many other people had to stop for a pee break in the mangroves mid race!) or rest every 1k for Braxton Hicks contractions. But it was SO much fun.
Finally I felt strong, and ready for childbirth!

20120912-075213.jpg
By Week 37 my energy had finally waned, and I was finding walking hard, let alone working out. I kept squatting, though, with the occasional run.

On the day Pickle was born, Tim and I ran a few k, had breakfast, went home and did some front squats and box jumps with clients, then had my baby shower, and I was in labour without even knowing it! I have always had a high tolerance for pain, but am sure that my strength had a lot to do with it.
Unfortunately little Mia Pickle got stuck and was distressed, so we took her out through the skylight. All that training and my race got scratched :/ BUT she came out happy, healthy and beautiful. That is all I could ever ask for, right?!

The major thing I was bothered about with the c-section is having to take SIX WEEKS off training. WHAT?!
I’m in week 5 now, and I’m telling you it has been the hardest, slowest 6 weeks EVER.
I’ve had a bunch of people tell me I look great, and you know what, I’m not going to brush the compliment off (although I know I’d look better if I’d laid off the mocha coffees and donuts). I’m not lucky. I’m not genetically blessed. I worked f*cking HARD when I was pregnant to make sure I wouldn’t have to struggle to lose the weight. I look OK in my clothes, for a new Mum.
Out of them, as any CrossFitter will understand, I know I am capable of looking better. My body on the outside is a reflection of how strong, capable and healthy I am. If I’m carrying a nice muffin top, which I am, you can guarantee I’m not moving as fast as when I had a 4 pack, you know?
There were days when I wanted to put my feet up and watch DVD’s all day “because you can!” but I hauled my waddling ass to the gym and did my goddamn squats!

NOW, how to lose the baby weight when I can’t work out? I’m equipped with this knowledge, and I preach it every day, but when you’re dog tired from being up all night with a tiny human attached to your nipple, my brain was telling me CONVENIENCE and SUGAR.
Well, I took my brain, and I shook it up, and I filled it full of good CLEAN food.
I have a couple of goals I’ll post up tomorrow, but until then, here is a little squiz at my body last week, Week One of “Operation Feel Good”. It’s hard for me to share it because staring at it I look at all the things I wish were better. But I’m going to keep on sharing my progress A) to keep me accountable and B) to show that it can be done without shakes/gimmicks/starving.

20120911-154522.jpg


Wish me luck!!?

20120911-154339.jpg

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Emma permalink
    September 11, 2012 10:41 pm

    basically you have worked your arse off and it shows in these last pics… you are amazing…!

  2. Kristy M permalink
    September 11, 2012 10:55 pm

    Good Luck Miss JoJo! You totally have this under control!

  3. Ginny permalink
    September 11, 2012 11:24 pm

    Good luck JoJo – operation feel good is clearly already a success because starting is the hardest part. xxx

  4. September 11, 2012 11:32 pm

    Wow! If this is 3 weeks post baby you are amazing! Inspiring! especially as I just hit 20 weeks pregnant and i feel like a little hippo already.

  5. Jacks (MBM) permalink
    September 11, 2012 11:41 pm

    You look better than me now and I don’t have a baby to show for it…other than food babies that is….!!!

  6. Lana permalink
    September 11, 2012 11:42 pm

    You inspire me. Seriously.

  7. Teegs permalink
    September 12, 2012 3:42 am

    Love you JoJo. You’re a stunner! xxx

  8. September 12, 2012 7:33 am

    Jojo I am really enjoying reading your blog it is inspirational to me, my baby Phoenix is 4 months and I have been feeling frumpy and old and continued to use the excuse that I was tired from being up all night! Yesterday and today I strapped on my joggers took myself for a good run in the national park and finished off with a nice weights session…thanks for motivating me.

    • September 17, 2012 12:26 am

      Hey Claire! Nice work on making a start, babe. I know it’s so hard when you’ve been up all night to even consider exercising, but you’ll find a jog will help keep you feeling energized for the day. Good on you!! Thanks for reading cx

  9. Liv permalink
    September 14, 2012 12:30 am

    Good shit!! So confronting and inspiring you will smash it and come back better than ever!!

  10. September 18, 2012 2:13 am

    Thanks for all of your support, guys. It means so much! xx

Leave a Reply

