Skip to content

Packing a Sad

June 22, 2011

Today I am “packing a sad”. I imagine this is what he looks like. He is sad and he lives in my belly.
And he is HUNGRY.

I have never been an emotional eater. I’m an emotional EXERCISER (there are worse things to be, right?)
But over the weekend came BACK PAIN and the news of a bulging disc, with a worried physio, and an angry doc both ordering REST.
List of what I’m not allowed to do: Deadlifits, sit ups, running, box jumps,back extensions, hip extensions, weighted squats, good mornings blah blah blah
Now, the CrossFit ethos is that workouts are universally scaleable, regardless of injury.
Sooooo I oughta be doing some upper body stuff right?

WRONG.

Add to that list the stuff I’m not allowed to do cos of my ALMOST recovered shoulder: pullups, push ups, snatches, cleans, jerks, press, push press, fast rowing (or rowing over long distances).

You know what it leaves? Skipping and air squats.

ALL GOOD. I can work with that.

So last night I head into the gym for an hour of stretching and rehabbing, and was planning on finishing off with tabata skipping and air squats.
Got through 2 mins of double unders and started feeling back pain. Switched to singles and it eased off a little.
Moved onto squats and COULDN’T. Couldn’t maintain lumbar curve, and it hurt so much I felt dizzy.
WTF. Shoot me now.

Fast forward to today. I worked, and demoing some basic movements made my back light up.
Went home at 7am for some voltaren and an ice pack and fell asleep again for FIVE HOURS!!!!
Back is feeling better, but spirits are a little down.

And my “sad” has decided that since he can’t train,  he feels like eating.
So I’m feeding him- bolognese mince with kumara fries. Yoghurt and fruit salad.
The major problem is that we have a box of oreos and a bag of marshmallows in the house to make an employee a special birthday cake.
And my “sad” has decided he wants them.

I’m not going to tell you I am all enlightened and angelic and won’t eat them.
Cos I’m spilling Oreo crumbs on the keyboard as I type.
I’m sharing in the hopes that you know that I have these moments, just like you do.
The difference is, tomorrow I’m going to wake up, go to the physio, teach some awesome bootcamps in the fresh air, and MOVE ON.
I think it’s important to feed your “sad” occasionally, lest he gets ravenous!!

Wanna know something funny? In my search for pictures of “sad monsters”, Sulley from Monsters Inc. came up. My favourite movie!
Watching this clip has put a smile on my face…so instead of packing a “sad” , I’m going to try packing a Sulley 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jimi permalink
    June 22, 2011 3:00 am

    Leave my baking ingredients alone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I will fill your sad hole with love. Later. After work.
    I wrote that line with clean intentions but as I read it over it doesn’t look that way.

  2. Sammy permalink
    June 22, 2011 3:41 am

    Great to know you give in to temptation too. Better to feed the sad and move on to a better and brighter day tomorrow. You rock!.xx

Leave a Reply

