Skip to content

Fueling the Engine…with AWESOMENESS!

June 16, 2011

Since Jimi launched “Lilo the Waikato” , and started his new fitness regime, he also surprised me, of his own accord, by announcing yesterday he would be giving up takeaways for a month!

I decided I would jump right in, Day One, and create a Paleo meal last night, with no rice/pasta/bread on the side option. He is a fussy bugger (I mean SERIOUSLY fussy) he’d had a massive day, with an evening meeting, and I reminded him he wasn’t to stop at Macdonalds on the way home. He walked in the front door at 8:38PM.

It’s a little insane that rather than going with something I knew he would eat, or something I had made before, I thought I’d do something completely new.
Sweet and Sour Pork.

I’d made the proper asian takeaway style dish many times back in the day, so I figured “how hard could it be?”
Turns out it was easy as! Aside from the time taken frying the pork in small batches, the rest was a cake walk 🙂

You may have noticed a common thread in my posts; I decide on a whim to make something, and then realize some way through I don’t have all the ingredients. Last night was no different. BUT it all turned out delish, so I’ll try and remember all the little bits and pieces I put in. HERE GOES.

Ingredients

Pork Fillets- I sliced these quite thinly and into smaller pieces for speed of cooking
Olive Oil for shallow frying- I didn’t have quite enough, so topped up the pan with beef dripping. Oops, but yum!
1 egg- I would have used more, but ran out!
Cold water
Coconut flour
Arrowroot
Sesame seeds
Asian 5 spice
Garlic granules
Chilli powder
Chilli flakes
Soy Sauce (gluten free)
Fish Sauce
Crushed garlic
Canned Pinapple in Natural Juice
Tomato Paste  (no added sugar. I used a whole tube…unsure of measurement)
Balsamic vingear- I would normally use white vinegar but the bottle was empty!
Splash of lemon and lime  juice
Red Capsicum cut into decent sized chunks
Spring Onion- I would usually use white onion in the old recipe, but ran out!
A little honey if you feel like you need it sweeter- I did for Jimi’s tastebuds 🙂

1. Douse the pork in soy sauce to marinate briefly whilst prepping your batter and heating the oil. DON’T MAKE IT TOO HOT. My first batch is always burned 😉 It should be medium hot.
2. Batter: whisk the egg, sprinkle in some coconut flour, sesame seeds, a splash of soy, garlic, chilli powder, 5 spice, and a little arrowroot. The batter should be thick enough to coat the pork well and hold together when you fry. Despite the fact that I was really ad-libbing it here as I was short on ingredients, this turned out to be one of the best paleoish batters I’ve ever made. Go me!

First batch of crispy, fatty, piggy little lumps of deliciousness.

3.  Strifry onion, capsicum and garlic for a few minutes. Add juice from pineapple, tomato paste, splash of soy/vinegar/fish sauce, chilli flakes. Add chunks of pineapple, then leave on a low heat whilst you fry the pork.
4. Once fried, drain. Add a little arrowroot to sauce to thicken. Dump your pork into pan of sauce. Stir, then serve on a bed of stir fried cauliflower rice. DONE!!!

Ok, it's a little blurry, but I was in a hurry to eat!!!

I’m pleased to say it got the Mr Fussy stamp of approval! SUCCESS! I’m so excited to take up the challenge of making him truly enjoy his healthy food as much as I do.

There are no carrots or other traditional sweet and sour veg in here, as the fridge was bare- it would be even better loaded with veg.
You could do this with stir fried pork as well- I was just really craving something fried…who the hell am I trying to kid, I’m ALWAYS craving something fried. In fact, I think it’s time for some kumara fries for afternoon tea 😉 Have a great day!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gee permalink
    June 16, 2011 2:12 am

    It looks yummo chick!! ❤

Leave a Reply

