Skip to content

Transformation: A guest post from an Inspirational CrossFit Chick

June 14, 2011

There’s something about CrossFit that brings out the fight in a lot of people.

I guess it’s because when you’re stripped down to that raw state where you’ve physically spent EVERYTHING and you’re lying on the floor in a pool of sweat, there’s a clarity that follows.

Maybe putting your body through suffering and coming out the other side helps you realize how strong you really are.

Someone who fought a hard battle before coming to CrossFit, and who is going from strength to strength since she joined is my friend Veronique (or “V” as we call her at the gym…I guess because the pronunciation is a bit hard for some!)

Over the two years prior to joining us at CFNZ, V had lost a staggering 30 kilograms!!!!

Amazing stuff, right?!!
Check her athlete profile HERE

V before...

...V's transformation!

Recently, as her confidence in her ability at CrossFit has grown, we have seen more of V’s personality coming out. She has a way of making new members at the gym feel at home, and a story she shared the other day was nothing short of inspirational.

Here is what V has to say on:

TRANSFORMATION

“The important thing is this: To be able at any moment to sacrifice what we are for what we could become.” – Charles Du Bos

Recently a friend asked me what the first step to personal transformation is.  The answer is simple.  And not quite what people want to hear.

The answer: you must want to change.

This is applicable to any area of your life.  Your work.  Your weight. Your fitness level. Your relationships.Things will only change if you WANT them to.
Really?  That’s it?  I hear you thinking.

Imagine a scale.  The heavy side is your current situation.  The light side is where you want to be.
So what’s on the heavy side that keeps it weighed down? Here are a few things:
Excuses
Ignorance
Emotional baggage
You actually like things the way they are

Urgh! What do you mean “I like things the way they are”?
Yes, you do.

The status quo is meeting some emotional need of yours.  Maybe comfort? Maybe security?

I can relate this to when I was obese.  There was a part of me that wanted to be “thin”.  I would begin the latest fad diet, all guns blazing.  Lose some weight.  And then you guessed it… pick up all the weight again and plus some.

It was not until I reached a point where the desire to live was greater than the “benefits” of being overweight.
Benefits of being overweight?  Are you crazy Veronique?

Nope.  When I was obese I never had to worry about the type of food I ate.  I ate what I wanted and as much I wanted.  I was harbouring the little secret that I am a compulsive overeater.  So yes, being overweight was a great way to get away with not dealing with my compulsion.

I never had think about putting “exercise clothes” on and “exercising” in bad weather.  I could sleep in.  I could come home from work and my plop myself on the couch and not get off it.

If I was dealing with some emotional issue (stress, sadness, joy) I could “medicate” myself with sugar until I was in a carbohydrate coma.

Yes, there were benefits to being overweight.

The tipping point came for me, when the real benefits of changing were more desirable than what I was.
Did I instantly transform?  No.

But I did deal with the excuses (I was born this way, it’s my genetics, I’m not athletic).
I jettisoned the emotional baggage that I was holding onto.
I became informed (no more quack, fad diets thank you!).
I really, really wanted to change.

So here is a quote from me:

“Transformation begins when the desire to change outweighs the payoff for keeping things the same.”

V and I at my "OMFG I can't believe you wore that to my party" Party. Love you girl!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

