Skip to content

Simple Pleasures

May 9, 2011

I’m a pretty happy person.
I like to smile.
I like to make other people smile.

But I’m not ALWAYS that way (that would make me a crazy person, I think).
Some days I miss my family in Australia.
Some days I wish my brother could stay out of hospital and just get better.
Some days I wish I had my best friends back in Australia here with me.
Some days my injuries get me down and I feel like I’m never going to get better.
Some days I wish I had more money to do the fun things I want to do because I feel like I’m running out of time.
Some days I just need a hug from my Mum.

All things that are out of my control.

Something that IS under my control is what I do to stop those sad feelings from taking over.
On days like that, it’s much harder to put on my happy face and retain an upbeat demeanor.  But I do. Cos that’s my job.

The longer I put on that face, the easier it becomes to ‘forget’ about the stressors  for a little while. Fake it till you make it!

I look to ‘Cultivate Simple Pleasures’, a tool from The Happiness Project that I find helps banish the blues.

Yesterdays simple pleasure?
Taking my fresh, sunny laundry off the line.

Even hanging out the laundry, which is something I’ve not had to do for about 5 years, brings forth a slew of happy memories.
When my Nana was around, she ALWAYS took care of the laundry in our house; she would actually get ornery if you tried to do it yourself!
And she ALWAYS smelled like fresh, sunny laundry. One of my favourite things to do was sit on the grass and talk to her whilst she hung out the sheets.

I’m not saying doing a load of laundry will help all of the worlds problems disappear (or that you should drop your laundry off at Grandma’s house and tell her I said it would make you happy if she did it!), but if you feel like everything is crumbling down on you, stop for a second, write down a list of 3 things that make you happy, pick at least one, drop everything and DO IT.

It could be ANYTHING. Even if you’re at work, surely there’s something you can do for 5 minutes to lift your mood?
Maybe it’s getting a cup of coffee from that awesome cafe downstairs. It could be chatting to the guy two cubicles down in the mad ties who always makes you laugh. Take your shoes off under your desk and paint your toenails?
If you can’t think of anything TRY HARDER.

This happiness stuff doesn’t always come easy, believe me, but the ability to take joy out of the simple things is something I am truly grateful for.

What simple pleasure have you enjoyed this week?

“True contentment is a thing as active as agriculture. It is the power of getting out of any situation all that there is in it. It is arduous and it is rare.”
– G.K. Chesterton

One Comment leave one →
  1. Darren permalink
    May 29, 2011 10:27 pm

    Such a cool photo!

Leave a Reply

