Skip to content

Week 1 almost done

May 7, 2011

We’re into Day 6 of the May Nutrition Challenge and I must confess, tonight I will cheat.
I’m not setting the best of examples, and YES, I am justifying the HECK out of it, but I deserve a night out!
We’re not talking pizza, beer, baguettes and cream filled donuts. MMMM donuts.
NOPE.
We’re talking a couple of cheeky beverages to celebrate.
YES I can hear you now, I know, I didn’t last long. Yes, I’m weak.
But I’m human…and at least I’m fessing up!

I have behaved since the beginning of March, even forgoing my 30th Birthday fanfare all in the name of good health and training.
But tonight, I shall drink to good health!

It will be our last night in our venue before we hand over the reigns, and the end to our hospitality careers, so that alone deserves a few glasses of bubbles.

Goodbye Pohutukawa Bar!

This week has been great though, completely dialed in and back in The Zone. I decided I wanted some little easy protein hits (other than plain old boiled eggs and tins of tuna!) to grab on the run, so I stole the concept of “Protein Pellets” (scotch eggs) from my fave blogger, Melicious.

* NOTE until I get blog font issues sorted out, just hover over words where you would IMAGINE links would be, and they should come up 🙂

I had a bag of meatball/sausage mince leftover in the freezer that I used to make these up.
The measurements are only approximations, but I tell you, if you can use this chutney I stole from Jamie Oliver (but made with a drizzle of honey instead of brown sugar, and added 1/2 cup peaches in natural juice, drained) or a sugar free chutney of your choice, it really makes the difference!

Scotch Eggs/Protein Pellets

250 g pork mince
250g beef mince
1/4-1/2 cup capsicum, peach and chilli chutney
Couple cloves garlic
Grated ginger

PLUS

10 boiled eggs

PLUS

Almond flour for coating
Mix meat and seasonings(add an egg if you feel needs binding more, but held together really well without it because of chutney)
Make small pancake shapes out of mixture, wrap lovingly around egg. * The love bit is important!

Roll in almond flour (or, if you read Mel’s blog, roll in crumbled up pork crackling. Haven’t tried this yet, but sounds AMAZING)

Bake in a moderate oven until brown and toasty on the outside. I had these with a heaping helping of Broccoslaw from the salad section of the supermarche. YUM.

I have eaten these over several days now, and even sliced one up the other night, fried in some beef dripping, and served with Kumara Chips fried in the same dripping, and a side of steamed broc. OMG DELISH!

PS If you are Zoning, each egg is approximately 3 blocks of protein and I’m guessing about 1 block of carb, haven’t sat down and figured it out.

PPS this one goes out to my friend, fellow CrossFitter, and Challege Participant Alex Tan. Go you good thing!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa "Melicious" Joulwan permalink
    May 7, 2011 4:38 pm

    Hey, Melicious from The Clothes Make the Girl… SCOTCH EGGS… yummy! I love the idea of adding chutney — great modification. Can’t wait to try that!

    • admin permalink
      May 10, 2011 8:18 am

      Hi Mel!
      LOVELOVELOVE your blog- thanks so much for sharing your amazing recipes 🙂

Leave a Reply

