Skip to content

Freedom

April 27, 2011

SO. After 3 years of the boy and I never living farther than a stroll from Downtown (with our last place being right smack-bang in the centre of the city) we finally caved.
Well, HE finally gave in to the incessant whining.

I was over the noise, I was over the dirt that blew in from the skyscrapers, and worst of all, I was SICK TO DEATH of my teeny tiny weeny squeency kitchen with enough bench space for a mixing bowl and a chopping board.

I hadn’t baked in FOREVER, and was finding it harder and harder as the days got busier to prep any more than one meal at a time, which laid waste to my plans to be prepared and organized.
I was starting to hate cooking, as I knew the mess and lack of space would be unbearable.

Last week I packed my muffin tins and off we went to the burbs!

Our wee block

I finally unpacked and tidied everything today, and strolled down to the local fruit and veg mart for some fresh produce. Heaven! And instead of letting my purchases rot away in the fridge before I had time to prep them all, I got to chopping. And blanching. And whizzing. And steaming. And boiling. And roasting. And wokking. ALL AT THE SAME TIME!
Ahhhh the joys of a spacious kitchen

It's ALLL goin on up in here!

I now have a fridge and freezer chock full of goodness in the form of roast veggie salad, pumpkin soup, stir fried veg, frozen pre prepped veg, cauliflower rice, pureed cauliflower, boiled eggs.

Since I’m sharing, I want you guys to see my ghetto food processor. The story goes, I got given one by my mother in law, then a week later I dropped the bowl, and snapped the little do-hickey that slips into the safety thingy and makes it go. SO hubby was sweet enough to buy me another (I seriously cried when I broke it!). THAT SAME DAY I did the SAME THING and snapped the SAME DO-HICKEY!
This is why I can’t have nice things.
He wasn’t buying me another one, so came up with this solution:

That's a screwdriver. Hey, it works!

ANNNNNND to make room in the fridge for all of that, I decided to make a

Fridge Clean Out Fried ‘Rice’

1 head cauliflower, raw, chopped in processor until ricey
4 eggs beaten with a splash of water
8 slices of streaky bacon, chopped and wok fried
Leftover shredded chicken from fridge
Leftover steamed veg

-First wok fry the bacon until crispy and delish, then add your riced cauliflower and stir fry *the bacon fat gives it a great flavour and colour. Add leftover meats and veg
-In a large greased super hot frying pan make thin omelette out of the egg. Let it cook through well, slide it onto a plate to keep it whole, then lay back in pan to brown on other side. Turn off pan and drizzle with sesame oil (I learned this from an ex-boyfriends Dad when he came to visit from China. Makes a tasty protein serve with some sliced spring onions and a splash of soy/oyster/chilli sauce. MMMMM!)
-Turn out onto plate again and slice into thin strips.
-Stir the egg through your rice.
-I added some garlic, ginger, shallots, LOADS of chilli, and a little oyster, soy, and fish sauce.

Now I know oyster sauce isn’t the best, but a splash wasn’t going to kill me. And I used gluten free soy.

Then I pulled up a chair by my window and watched the ponies go by.

Yep. Ponies. Right outside my window. Livin the dream πŸ˜‰

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mrs Muscles permalink
    April 27, 2011 3:18 am

    yum!! looks tasty and the view is great!
    hi ponies πŸ™‚

  2. Rachael Longson permalink
    May 10, 2011 7:49 am

    Just made it, and YUMMY!!!!! YUMMY!!!!!

    • admin permalink
      May 10, 2011 8:17 am

      Must be the night for it- I just finished a big bowl of it topped off with some prawns πŸ™‚ Glad you liked it!!

Leave a Reply

