Skip to content

Healthy Fooood Tastes so Goooood!

November 3, 2010

Sing it, Cookie Monster. Word.

I’ve been a while of the blog wagon as work has been BUSY and my free-time focus has been on the CrossFit New Zealand Spring Clean Challenge. So far our team the Super Bad Long Sock Killers are in the lead, taking out the last team challenge with points earned for participation 🙂

I’m happy with my gains in performance, and improvements in body composition so far. And it’s all down to FOOD.

And for me, it’s not just eating healthy, but it’s about making my food enjoyable! F*ck cabbage soup diets. I want food for life.

Sometimes I wonder, though, just because I like what I’m cooking, would anyone else eat it? The test was the Halloween BBQ at Coach Taz and Pat’s place last weekend. I made my Bacon & Egg Salad, and some Asian Stylie Meatballs with dipping sauces. They went down well, so, on request, here is the recipe.

JoJo’s CFNZ Halloween Asian Stylie Meatballs

400g beef mince

400g pork mince

(I’m only guessing, I just grabbed two packs of meat out of the fridge)

2 free range eggs (you can use more if you think it’s not sticking together)

2 chopped shoots spring onion

approx 4 cloves garlic

tbsp grated ginger

tsp Asian 5 spice

half a finely chopped chilli

splash of tamari, splash of fish sauce, tbsp honey

Big handful finely chopped coriander

Mix it all up well, and add enough almond meal to bind (I just kept adding until it formed nice meatballs, not too dense, and still a little sticky)

Form into cute little balls and sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Whack on the BBQ.

DONE!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now, they were good on their own, but a saucy girl needs something to dip her munchies into. I make a sauce based on Spunky CrossFitter Melicious’s  “Sunshine Sauce” (love her blog), using almond butter instead of sunbutter, but being short on ingredients, played around with it for the BBQ.

Half a jar of almond butter

Approx tbsp melted coconut oil

Juice of about 6 limes

Tbsp white vinegar

Tbsp ginger

2 cloves garlic

drizzle of honey, splash of tamari

Add boiling water whilst whisking until smooth

(or chuck it in a protein shake-shaker like I did until you reach the right consistency)

Such a good night, and with everyone eating so healthy, it was THE best catered BBQ I’ve ever been to. Love it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 6:33 am

    Ah man, I like your style! Sounds perfect for that warm summer BBQ. The sauce sounds great, always find it hard to come up with new, and tasty ones, def gonna try this one next time……. p.s when you have a BBQ can I come? 🙂

  2. November 4, 2010 8:20 am

    Chick, you’re always invited, especially if you bring sausages (gluten free of course) 🙂

  3. Antoine permalink
    May 1, 2011 9:09 pm

    Thanks for the useful insight points.

    My blog:
    solution rachat credit ou comparateur Rachat de Credit

Leave a Reply

