Skip to content

Hand Maintenance- all the cool kids are doing it

October 15, 2010

I am PISSED OFF.

I’ve always been so good with taking care of my callouses, and am obsessed with handcream. But got a bit lazy with my handcare this week, AND did Cindy AND Mary in one day (foolish already, I know. About 268 pull-ups all told)

Didn’t even notice how dry and thick the stupid bumps of skin on my wee hands had gotten, and before I even got to the workout, I tore one half off. That’s just sad.

Yeah, yeah, CrossFitters are hardcore, and nothing says “CrossFit”, apparently, like hard, f*cked up hands. But for me, not only are they painful, itchy, and annoying (because I HATE taping my hands) but they are REALLY unattractive. No thanks!

 

Not Hot

 

I swear, I jumped on the bar to do a pull-through and felt the rrrrrrip. My hands had felt so good during my 19rd Cindy in the morning, but obviously my callouses were good and puffed up that afternoon during Mary. After the tear during warm up,  I was overcompensating and gripping too tightly with my left hand, and as a result ended up with a gooey palm tear. That’s the annoying part! If I’d been doing something hard out like Angie and it’d ripped, MAYBE I’d be less peeved.

Nothing more frustrating as a CrossFitter than trying to get hand tears to heal; and it all could’ve been prevented with some simple maintenance.

Great tips HERE and a good vid from Andy Petranek at  CrossFit LA

Darren at CFNZ made a valid point the other day; (to paraphrase) torn hands, busted shins from rope climbing etc often mean you might be trying to push yourself a bit TOO hard, and/or are perhaps using poor technique, and not listening to your body which can result in injury.

It’s crazy that an open wound is seen a CrossFit badge of honour, of sorts!

Now I’m stuck here with my manicure kit digging, trimming and slicing for the rest of the afternoon.

What a way to spend a rest day. Unlike.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2010 9:03 am

    I must be a wimp…..I still wear gloves as baby pooh and ripped hands=SICK INFECTION……sooooo not cool!!!

  2. October 16, 2010 12:05 am

    Ew baby pooh infection!
    Believe it or not, well cared for hands/callouses end up working as gloves, and an added plus is my husband doesn’t ask me for massages any more because I have “man hands”. Bonus!
    I can’t handle gloves, they screw with my grip strength too much.

    Can’t wait to read your blog, Steph. Very excited 🙂

  3. October 27, 2010 7:43 pm

    I’m going to tell Dave, Eric, Casey, Janelle, Dan, and whoever else’s ripped up hands are in that collage that you stole the photo from my website and said their hands are “Not Hot!”

    Just kidding! Actually I think it’s funny that you put this up, and it most certainly is an example of what happens when you don’t take care of your hands!

    I hope your hands heal up nicely, and that you keep taking good care of them so that you don’t end up in a photo like the one I put together!

  4. October 27, 2010 8:15 pm

    Tai! Sorry mate, I should have credited your pic. Your collage was one of the best examples I could find of some seriously effed up hands. I’m sure Dave, Eric, Casey, Janelle, Dan and whoever else is in your pics have hot everything-else if they’re CrossFitting with you 🙂 Mine are feeling good, have done some high rep pull ups and bear crawling on gravel this week and they have held up nicely.
    PS I’m gonna steal that link for Sauteed Shrimp with Macadamia Salsa from your site too. Yum!

Leave a Reply

