Skip to content

Goal Number Three

August 27, 2010

Less than a month until Fight Gone Bad 5 over at CrossFit NZ. It’s time to ramp it up!  I was looking my results from last years comp, and I ended up with 260. This year I’m feeling a lot stronger, so I’m going to aim to improve that by an extra 10 reps per round.

See this vid for an explanation

SOOOO here’s where I’m at:

3. Score 290 in FGB5

I’ll be happy with 280, but I’m feeling much fitter than last year, so if I aim for 290 and fall a little short, I’ll still be happy I had a target in mind.

10 more reps per round. That’s it. In “Fight Gone Burpee ” last week (with burpees instead of rowing) I managed to SMASH the first round and get over 100 so I could slack off a tiny bit in the last round.  I got 258, and could’ve gone harder. So I reckon it’s doable. After 2 years of loathing wall balls, I’ve finally gotten better at them! So I’m not worried about that. Was reminded in the WOD two days ago how much I STINK at Sumo Deadlift High-pulls, so I’ll need to work on those to get some extra reps out…apparently I’m using to much arms and not enough ass (for a big old booty like mine, apparently my glutes don’t activate enough!)

The workout we did, courtesy of my peoples at CFNZ was

5 thrusters 60/40kg
7 hang power clean
9 SDHP
5 Rounds

15 min time cap

I did it at 30kgs to finish, and ended up 8:26 (I think) LOVED this WOD.

So my push press is pretty sweet, and my box jumps are getting better. Rowing will never be my thing, so I’m just going to use that as more of a recovery.

Looking forward to todays CFNZ WOD

Danny

Complete as many rounds in 20 minutes as you can of:
30 Box Jumps 60/50cm
20 Push Press 50/35kg
30 Pull-ups

It’s going to be horrible- I can feel it already, but good practice for FGB, and ticking off goal number 3.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2010 9:38 pm

    Jojo, sorry to break it to you, but the weights at CrossFit Aucks FGB last year were 22.5kg. Rx’d is actually 25kg, so if you can replicate your 260 reps this time through, that would be pretty awesome. And hey if you get more reps as well, that means you will deserve some sort of non-Paleo treat afterwards…..

    • September 1, 2010 10:19 pm

      MATE are you serious? I had no idea! Thought rx’d was rx’d. Sh*t. Right….sooooo let’s amend it to 260.
      Thanks for the heads up. I would have been gutted if I’d gotten all the way through and ended up worse off than last year.
      And I’m thinking Little Mexico nachos for dinner with a passionfruit margarita if I get more than that 😉

Leave a Reply

