Skip to content

Do good, feel good

July 21, 2010

Stuck in bed today, I picked up the lifestyle insert in the paper, and the front cover featured “The Happiness Project: One woman’s mission to fight off mid-life malaise”.

Interesting story, but I tend to skim over or flick past articles on “how to get happy”. Why? Because I AM happy. I’m not gloating. It’s a fact. There are a gazillion reasons why (great friends, the best mum and dad in the world, doing what I love every day) but for the most part, I’m responsible for it. I didn’t ask anyone else to be held accountable. I made myself happy.

Of course, there are always going to be things in our lives that will make us sad, but I’m talking inherent happiness. Satisfaction. Contentedness. I still notice that many of those around me struggle to be content, don’t know how to be happy, or worse, those who settle for less than they deserve. They settle for being unhappy. WHY?????  It’s like they think being happy is impossible. Like they think they don’t deserve it.

This kid is HAPPY!

Now, I know it seems like a simplistic view to tell someone to make themselves happy, but this lady, Gretchen Rubin, did just that with The Happiness Project. I like her approach; every month she picked a different thing she would focus on that she felt would bring her happiness, and she did everything she could every day to make that a reality.

Baby steps.

Like “EXERCISE” and “SLEEP”. One of the great ideas she has touched on is “do good, feel good”. A foolproof way to make yourself feel happy is to do something to make OTHERS feel happy. I try and live my life like this on a daily basis, it does feel good! Now, I’m not saying I skip around hugging strangers, handing out fake compliments, and living in a land of bunnies, puppies and bubblegum…but I try and do at least one thing every day to make everyone that I encounter feel good. It’s not really conscious thing anymore. And it’s a nice habit to have.

In my relationship, every day we make an effort to do ONE THING to make the other happy.

SIMPLE things; a text message saying “I love you”, a post it note in a laptop bag, lunch dropped off to the office on a busy day, or him making the bed! Believe it or not it makes my day coming home after leaving at stupid-o-clock to find the bed made. It’s the little things that make a difference.

Now, the “do good, feel good” concept aint gonna fix your dead-end relationship, or make that job you hate better. It won’t stop bad shit from happening either. But being happy will make you stronger, and help you realize that you’re worth more than you think, and give you the power to MAKE CHANGE.

And strong people are harder to kill than weak people, and more useful in general

Gretchen also started waking her daughter each day with a song, and found that singing every morning made her feel cheery. She said “by acting happy, I made myself feel happy”.

What song would you start your day with?

Here’s mine

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 3:36 am

    that photo of the kid above just makes me happy looking at it 🙂 yay for happiness……!

  2. July 22, 2010 9:09 pm

    I know, right? How could you be sad looking at that? 🙂

  3. Dani permalink
    July 29, 2010 1:12 pm

    Reading this makes me want to change to be even more happy!

  4. July 30, 2010 10:45 pm

    I don’t know if that’s possible, Dani 😉

Leave a Reply

