Skip to content

Give me Pizza!

July 16, 2010

LoveLoveLove pizza. One of my most missed dishes (and my most precious of cheats/treats) is Sal’s Pizza on Commerce Street. THE most amazing pizza I have tasted since New York. The boys over at Sal’s are awesome, and if you ever feel like falling off the wagon, that’s where I would suggest you land 😉

I doubt Grok would have ever chowed down on an extra large, cheesy, gooey, doughy slice of heaven…but wait, I digress.

SO after trawling recipes over the past few months on the web, I mixed the best elements of a few and made my own much more cavemantastic version.

I offered to make some friends of mine a Primal meal the other night, and this seemed like the perfect time to test it out.

Here’s what I came up with

PRIMAL PIZZA

Now, I just tossed a bunch of things in I thought would taste good, so I haven’t put many exact measurements, just work out what tastes good. The crust actually turned out to be even better than the “real” thing.

1 cup almond meal (about 1/8 of which was macadamia meal)

2 egg whites (depending on size, should be about 1/3 of a cup)

Approx 3tbsp Almond butter

Drizzle olive oil

1 clove crushed garlic

Paprika

Cayenne Pepper

Sea Salt

(I think from memory I might’ve sprinkled a few sesame seeds??? no sure)

Mix until you have a nice dough. It will be slightly sticky, but if it’s too mushy, add more almond meal. I made this into two smaller pizza bases, but it will make one large one.

Press into either round or rectangular shape on baking paper (it WILL stick to the tray if you don’t) I also lightly greased the baking sheet for good measure.

Whack it in the oven at about 170c for 10-15 mins or until coloured a nice nut-brown.

SAUCE

I made a Paleo BBQ Sauce based on this recipe from Son of Grok for pizza one, and the other one I defrosted a nice mexican tomato and veggie sauce I made a few weeks ago.

Pizza one I loaded up with meat of every description I had, as well as sliced tomatoes, rocket, fresh sliced chillis, and a sprinkle of cheese. When it came out I drizzled with a homemade cashew and spinach pesto. DROOL!

Pizza two got topped with leftover Chilli Chicken from the night before, plus all of the above ingredients, mushrooms and a dob of sour cream at the end. SCRUMPTIOUS!

These are even better cold as the flavours have a chance to really soak in.

Wish I’d taken photos, but these are so good I’ll make again on Sunday and post em up.

For the time being it looked kinda like this…but YUMMIER!

I’ve found that for just about every Neolithic meal I used to enjoy, there is an equally, if not MORE delicious Paleo alternative.

Next on my menu testing board MEATZA. I’m serious. Check it out, this is some serious meatage.

Also, sending all my love out the the CrossFit New Zealand team, and Loz Roberts as they compete tomorrow in the CrossFit Games. We’ll be cheering the guys on at Pohutukawa Bar from 5am tomorrow morning.

I could definitely go a slice of cold pizza for breakfast…

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 16, 2010 2:59 am

    ❤ love
    want to make very soon……sounds delicious. goobble goobble!! get in my belly. cant wait to taste. p.s feel free to set up your own pizza stall for me to come by and buy a slice.

Leave a Reply

