Skip to content

It’s All Happening!

June 21, 2010

SO much has gone on in the past 2 weeks that my head is spinning!

Last weekend saw my awesome friends and I compete at CrossFit New Zealand‘s 2nd Birthday Games out at Panmure. What an inspirational group of people in attendance! The number of new faces drinking the Kool Aid in Auckland is staggering, and an indicator of just what this fitness phenomenon is doing for Kiwi’s. My awesome friend Becs Penman took out the individual women’s category (the only female to go prescribed…she is a CrossFit addict like nothing I’ve ever seen) and my buddy and business partner Jamie Milne came a very close 2nd in the Men’s.

I competed with friend and client Debbie Roe. This chick is incredible. She’s been CrossFitting for a matter of weeks, and took part in a Games day with some firebreathing, insane athletes. I know how scared she was, but she sucked it up and whilst we didn’t take out any prizes, damn it we smashed it as best we could. Seeing the passion she now has gives me a warm fuzzy feeling in my tummy 🙂 Big ups also to the next big thing in CrossFit Hala Azzawe. Girl, you’re a killer!

The next day we headed out to CFNZ again for an Olympic Weightlifting clinic with CrosFit legend Pat “The Manimal” Barber. This guy is an asset to the NZ CrossFitting family and it’s a privilege to have him here. After a year of struggling with weak assed thrusters, Pat spent 10 seconds watching my form, offered me one cue, and I’m now pushing weights overhead I didn’t think possible.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. C to the T permalink
    June 21, 2010 8:34 pm

    Loving the blog and hearing all your escapades!!

    you guys rock! Good luck on the new business 😉

  2. June 21, 2010 11:16 pm

    aww thanks CT! xx

  3. Hala permalink
    June 22, 2010 3:08 am

    Jojo big ups for you my Crossfit Fairy!! This is sensaaaaaaaationaaaal my caramel latte, Jojo we have to show off ur captured thrusters at CFNZ games Daaaaaaaayum sexy…xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

