Skip to content

Getting off the crack.

April 15, 2010

Nicole Carroll wrote an article about starting on the Zone diet and equated craving the insulin response to getting off crack! I know so many people at our CrossFit  Auckland over the past 2 weeks have taken on the challenge to cut the sugar from their diets; a couple I’ve spoken to felt physically ill over the first few days because they needed a hit! Scary. When I went Paleo I wasn’t worried about the sugar so much as the BAKING. I LOVE to bake. I don’t ever eat much of it- a cookie here, a roll there, a banana muffin fresh from the oven on a Sunday morning. I just enjoy the process.

Trolling the web for “paleo-baking” recipes, I mashed a few of them together and came up with a really tasty banana “muffin” recipe. If you’re getting off the crack, be it sugar or carbs, these are a nice little treat, and unlike other healthy baking, your family and friends can actually share these with you and wouldn’t know it was good for them 🙂

2 mashed overripe bananas

1 cup almond meal

1 cup desiccated coconut

1 egg

1 scoop vanilla whey isolate

Olive oil/coconut oil (not sure how much- just drizzled it in there. Maybe 2 tbsp)

Handful crushed walnuts

Bake in a moderate oven till they spring back when you touch them gently.

I find these plenty sweet, although when I’ve made them for other non-paleo folk I’ve experimented with adding a little agave nectar, and I’ve also done it with a little pure maple syrup. Adding a half teaspoon of baking soda helps make them more traditionally “muffiny” but remember if you’re strict about being all cavemannish then baking soda is not on the list. You can experiment with your fruit. A whole grated apple with some cinnamon added is fab, so is loading it up with raspberries, although this is bloody expensive!

Now, these recipes are not for everyone. Kurt Harris writes a fantastic and informative blog for those starting out eating Paleo; PāNu. He wrote an interesting article entitled  Smoking Candy Cigarettes which basically says I’m naughty. “Don’t eat anything that looks like Neolithic food, especially Neolithic food.”

I like my pretend Neolithic food, personally. I see it as a challenge to make tasty things I enjoy eating that actually support my lifestyle and diet. Read the article and decide for yourself. Me? I would go nuts if I couldn’t cook and bake. Can’t wait to experiment with flax “focaccia”….almond crackers…kumara “pizza crust” yummmm…. 😛

For those of you struggling with cutting rice out the your diet- this method of preparing cauliflower is AWESOME. It really ends up rice like! I spread it out on a baking tray and bung it in the oven for about 15 mins rather than going the stir fry route.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 10:21 am

    Agave nectar is the marketing name for High Fructose Agave Syrup. It is more highly processed than High Fructose Corn Syrup. It is not even close to being paleo. More paleo is palm sugar, which like maple syrup is just boiled down. Except it is a plant that would have been available in the tropics.

    • April 18, 2010 5:45 pm

      Hi Don, thanks for your comment 🙂 I am well aware of what Agave Nectar is, which is why I leave it out when I make them for myself. However, for the purposes of keeping others happy when I bake for them, I will occasionally put it in there. It’s awesome to know more people are becoming aware of what they’re putting into their bodies.

Leave a Reply

